Manage users (and environments)
Summary
The user and environment administration offers you an overview of all users of all existing environments of the selected company. You have the following options here:
- Add (invite) or remove users
- Adjust user roles (company and environment roles)
- Add or remove environments to users
- Add or remove users from environments
- Defining new environment roles
- Renaming environments
- Sharing environments
Note
The documentation about the API Proactive Connect is in the following subchapters: Proactive Connect (API)
Company selection
If you are responsible for multiple companies, after clicking Manage Users you will first get to the company selection. Here, select the company whose user management you want to use.
If you are only responsible for one company, you will see the overview directly.
Overview
The overview page shows you all environments, users and environment roles in the corresponding tabs for the selected company. On the topic of roles, see also below “Environment Roles”.
Note
If you are responsible for more than one company, you will see a split view: on the left a list of available companies (for which you are unlocked), on the right the tabs with options for the selected company (environments, users, environment roles).
If your responsibility is limited to one company, you will not see this split.
Environments
In the Environments tab, you will see an overview of all environments unlocked to you for the selected company. The environments are created by baramundi for the customers. If you select an environment, the environment details appear on the right. Here you have the option to edit the name of the environment as well as the country and to share the environment with another company or to cancel an already existing sharing.
Only for baramundi Proactive Hub environments: Here you can also see how many active endpoints the environment contains and which licenses are active for this environment. Click on See details to get more detailed information on the active licenses:
Renaming environments
To change the environment name, select the environment (Open) whose name you want to change. The Environment details will then appear on the right. Click on the pencil icon to the right of the environment name and change the name. Confirm with Save.
Note
It may take several hours for the name change to be applied by the server. Therefore, please wait for a while and refresh the page in the meantime.
Share environments
The Share with another company function can be reached via the environment details, and also on the left in the list of environments via the three-dot menu of the respective environment.
Use this feature if you want to share the administration of one or more of your company environments with another company. This has the consequence that the invited person of the other company will from now on see the shared environment listed with him (under his company, so he will then see two companies, his own and the shared one) and will be able to fully administer this environment.
Each Company Administrator will only see the environments assigned to him. Depending on which administrator is logged in, he consequently sees the environments of his own company that are assigned to him and, if applicable, even other companies if they have shared one or more of their environments with him.
Assigned users
In this list you can see which users have already been added to the selected environment. Here you have the possibility to search, remove and assign new users to the environment. The Assign users function can also be found on the left in the list of environments for each environment under the three-dot menu.
The three-dot menu allows you to open each user individually. This will take you directly to the user administration. Instructions on how to add a new user can be found below under Users.
Environment roles
Before adding new users to your environments, it is important that you define appropriate environment roles for the selected environment. You use environment roles to manage user permissions. There are two default roles (system roles) available to you (Reader, Environment Administrator). In addition, you have the option of creating further, personalized roles. You then assign one of these roles to your users.
Note
You can see the set rights for each role when you open the role via the three-dot menu in your product (baramundi Argus Cockpit or baramundi Proactive Hub). Environment roles you create yourself can also be configured there.
We distinguish between company roles and environment roles:
Company roles There are two company roles, the Company Administrator and the Company User. The Company Administrator has access to user and role management. He can make changes to rights and roles and invite and remove users. The Company User is a normal user and has no access to the user and role management.
Environment roles You use the environment role to control user rights in our products Argus Cockpit and Proactive Hub. You use it to specify access to certain functions, as well as visibility for information and charts. More information can be found here: Configure Environment Roles.
System roles System roles are a special form of environment roles, so-called default roles. They can be recognized by the lock symbol. They are available from the beginning and cannot be changed. Their configuration can be seen under Configure environment roles. Editing and deleting are not possible.
Create new environment roles as needed. To do this, assign a name for the role as well as (optionally, but recommended) a description.
For instructions on how to configure individual roles and more information on Environment roles, click here: Configure Environment Roles.
Users
To allow users on your environment and assign them different roles (and thus rights), invite the appropriate users into the environment.
Add a new user
In the Users tab, you will find the + New user function in the top right corner.
- Select a username and enter the corresponding email address.
- Select the company role you want the user to have (Administrator or User).
- Click Create User. The new user will appear in the list of users on the left. On the right you will see the associated user details.
The user is now created, but not yet active. This requires the following steps: - Assign at least one environment to the user. The function can be found in the Available environments list in the user details for each environment in the upper right corner as a toggle button. Alternatively, select a user in the user list on the left, go to the three-dot menu there and select Assign environments. Here you have the option to assign multiple environments at once.
- Send invitation: Click the button or select Copy invitation link to clipboard via the arrow to send the invitation link to the new user.
- The new user will receive the email with the invitation link. When he clicks it, he will be asked to provide a password. In addition, he is shown the end user license agreement (EULA). He must confirm this. If he has done this, the registration as a new user is completed and he has access to the environment according to his rights.
Change users
You can see the users already created under Environments, split by environment, or under the Users tab in the general overview. Here, all users created for the company are listed (on the left). On the right side you will see the user details for the selected user (similar to the environment details). Make any changes here such as: enable new environments, change company role, temporarily disable environments and more.